List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners

What is Bharata Ratna?

The Bharat Ratna is considered to be the country's **highest and most prestigious civilian award**. The award is given "in recognition of exceptional service or performance of the highest order" in any field of human endeavor. Any person without distinction of race, occupation, position, or sex is eligible for this award. Bharat Ratna is given for National service. These services include arts, literature, science, public service, sports and in any field of human endeavor.

When the first Bharat Ratan award was given?

The first Bharat Ratna award was given on 2 January 1954 and since then (till 2017) a total of 45 people have received this award.

Bharat Ratna Award Winners

| S.No. | Name of the Awardees | Year |
|-------|-----------------------------|------|
| 1. | Shri C. Rajagopalachari | 1954 |
| 2. | Dr.Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan | 1954 |
| 3. | Dr.C. V. Raman | 1954 |
| 4. | Dr.Bhagwan Das | 1955 |
| 5. | Dr.M Visvesvaraya | 1955 |
| 6. | Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru | 1955 |
| 7. | Pt. Govind Ballabh Pant | 1957 |
| 8. | Dr.Dhondo Keshav Karve | 1958 |
| 9. | Dr.Bidhan Chandra Roy | 1961 |
| 10. | Shri.Purushottam Das Tandon | 1961 |

| S.No. | Name of the Awardees | Year |
|-------|--|------|
| 11. | Dr.Rajendra Prasad | 1962 |
| 12. | Dr.Zakir Husain | 1962 |
| 13. | Dr.Pandurang Vaman Kane | 1963 |
| 14. | Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri (posthumous) | 1966 |
| 15. | Smt.Indira Gandhi | 1971 |
| 16. | Shri V. V. Giri | 1975 |
| 17. | Shri K. Kamaraj(posthumous) | 1976 |
| 18 | Mother Teresa | 1980 |
| 19. | Shri Acharya Vinoba Bhave | 1983 |
| 20. | Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan | 1987 |
| 21. | Shri M. G. Ramachandran | 1988 |
| 22. | Dr.B. R. Ambedkar | 1990 |
| 23. | Nelson Mandela | 1990 |
| 24. | Shri.Rajiv Gandhi (posthumous) | 1991 |
| 25. | Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel (posthumous) | 1991 |
| 26. | Shri Morarji Desai | 1991 |
| 27. | Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (posthumous) | 1992 |
| 28. | Shri J. R. D. Tata | 1992 |

| S.No. | Name of the Awardees | Year |
|-------|--|------|
| 29. | Shri Satyajit Ray | 1992 |
| 30. | Shri Gulzarilal Nanda | 1997 |
| 31. | Smt.Aruna Asaf Ali(posthumous) | 1997 |
| 32. | Dr.A. P. J. Abdul Kalam | 1997 |
| 33. | Smt.M. S. Subbulakshmi | 1998 |
| 34. | Shri Chidambaram Subramaniam | 1998 |
| 35. | Loknayak Jayaprakash Narayan (posthumous) | 1999 |
| 36. | Professor Amartya Sen | 1999 |
| 37. | Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi (posthumous) | 1999 |
| 38. | Pandit Ravi Shankar | 1999 |
| 39. | ShushriLata Mangeshkar | 2001 |
| 40. | Ustad Bismillah Khan | 2001 |
| 41. | Pandit Bhimsen Joshi | 2009 |
| 4. | Professor C. N. R. Rao | 2014 |
| 43. | Shri Sachin Tendulkar | 2014 |
| 44. | Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya (posthumous) | 2015 |
| .45. | Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee | 2015 |